The Police

Newfoundland and Labrador has two main police forces, The Royal Newfoundland Constabulary (RNC) and The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

The Royal Newfoundland Constabulary is responsible for providing policing services to three areas of Newfoundland and Labrador: St. John’s, Mount Pearl and the surrounding communities which comprise the North East Avalon; Corner Brook; and Labrador West.

The main headquarters of the RNC is located in Fort Townshend in the centre of the city of St. John’s. The RNC has detachment offices in all areas it serves.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, under contract with the provincial government, provides police services in all other areas of the province not included in the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary’s jurisdiction. The RCMP has several detachment offices throughout the province.

For a list of RNC and RCMP detachments and contacts, go to the end of this chapter.

Provincial Guide Section 3

Provincial Guide Section 4

Provincial Guide Section 5

Provincial Guide Section 8

Provincial Guide Section 9

Provincial Guide Section 10

Newcomer’s Guide Links Part 2

Regional Guide 1 STJ-Avalon

Regional Guide 2 Eastern-Central

Regional Guide 3 Western

Regional Guide 4 Labrador

Search the Guide