Time and Time Zones

Time and Time Zones

While the 24-hour clock is used in Canada, The 12-hour clock is more common where the letters a.m. (Latin = ante meridiem – before Noon) indicate the morning hours from midnight to noon while the afternoon and evening hours are indicated by p.m. (Latin = post meridiem – after Noon).

There are six time zones across Canada and the United States. The island portion of the province and the eastern part of Labrador are in a different time zone which is half an hour ahead of the rest of North America. This is the Newfoundland Time Zone. The western part of Labrador – indeed most of Labrador with the exception of the Labrador Straits – is in the Atlantic Time Zone (with Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island).

The following list tells you what time it is elsewhere when it is 9:30 a.m. Newfoundland Time.

  • 9:00 a.m. Atlantic (Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, P.E.I. and Western Labrador)
  • 8:00 a.m. Eastern (Quebec and Ontario)
  • 7:00 a.m. Central (Manitoba and Saskatchewan)
  • 6:00 a.m. Mountain (Alberta)
  • 5:00 a.m. Pacific (British Columbia)

Provincial Guide Section 4

Provincial Guide Section 5

Provincial Guide Section 7

Provincial Guide Section 8

Provincial Guide Section 9

Provincial Guide Section 10

Newcomer’s Guide Links Part 2

Regional Guide 1 STJ-Avalon

Regional Guide 2 Eastern-Central

Regional Guide 3 Western

Regional Guide 4 Labrador


Search the Guide